British Airborne East of river Orne



6th Airborne - Order of battle
Commanding General :
Major-General Richard N. Gale
Major General Richard N. Gale
Richard N. Gale
Assitant Commanding :
Captain Tom Haughton
Chief of Staff :
Lt. Colonel Shamus Hickie
GSO1 (OPS) :
Lt. Colonel Bobby Bray
GSO1 (AIR) :
Lt. Colonel Bill Bradish
GSO2 (OPS) :
Major David Baird
GSO2 (Intelligence) :
Major Gerry Lacoste
GSO3 (OPS) :
Captain M.R. Spurling
GSO3 (AIR) :
Captain Nick Pratt
GSO3 (Intelligence) :
Captain J.H. Max
Company HQ :
Captain J. Stack
6 A/B Division Provost Co :
Captain Irwin
Royal Army Chaplains :
Lt. Colonel J.C. Hales
Civil Affairs :
Major F. Adams
Intelligence Corps :
Captain Freddie Scholes
Captain V.L. Clarke
317th Field Security Section :
Captain Donaldson-London
Captain F.G. Mc Millan
Glider Pilot Regiment :
Brigadier George Chatterton
1st Wing :
Lt. Colonel Ian Murray
2nd Wing :
Lt. Colonel John Place
22nd Independant Para Co :
Major Francis Gordon Lennox-Boyd (KIA 6 June)
3rd Para Brigade :
Brigadier James Hill
Second : Major Bill Collingwood
8th Bn. Parachute Regiment :
Colonel Alistair S. Pearson
Hq Co :
Major G. Payne
A Co :
Major S. Terrell
B Co :
Major A. J. Wilson
C Co :
Major G. Hewetson
9th Bn. Parachute Regiment :
Lt. Colonel Terence Otway
Lt. Colonel Napier Crokenden
Hq Co :
Major George Smith
A Co :
Major Allen Parry
B Co :
Captain Harold Bestley
C Co :
Major Ian Dyer
R Co (in UK) :
Captain F. Tavenor
1st Canadian Parachute Bn :
Lt. Colonel George F. P. Bradbrooke
Lt. Colonel Nicholson
Hq Co :
Major E. T. Munro
A Co :
Major D. Wilkins
B Co :
Major C. Fuller
C Co :
Major Hugh Murray McLeod (KIA 6 June)
Captain J. P. Hanson
5th Para Brigade :
Brigadier Nigel Poett
Second : Major Ted Lough
7th Bn. Parachute Regiment :
Lt. Colonel George Pine-Coffin
Hq Co :
Major Tullis
A Co :
Major Nigel Taylor
B Co :
Major Roger Neale
C Co :
Major R. J. H. Bartlett
12th Bn. Parachute Regiment :
Lt. Colonel Johnny A.P. Johnson (KIA 12 June)
Lt. Colonel William Harris (WIA)
Lt. Colonel Nigel Stockwell
Hq Co :
Major D. Mayfield
A Co :
Major Gerald Ritchie
B Co :
Major Harold Rogers
C Co :
Major Clarence W. Stephens
13th Bn. Parachute Regiment :
Lt. Colonel Peter Luard
Hq Co : 
Major Reggie M. Tarrant
A Co : 
Major John F. Cramphorn
B Co : 
Major George W. Bristow
C Co : 
Major Gerald H.D. Ford
6th Airlanding Brigade :
Brigadier The Honourable Hugh K. M. Kindersley
Second : Colonel Reggie Parker
12th Bn. Devonshire Regiment :
Lt. Colonel Dick Stevens
Support Co :
Major Eddie Warren
A Co :
Major Johnny H. G. Rogers
B Co :
Major Wallie F. Barrow
C Co :
Major J. P. Haythornthwaite
D Co :
Major John A. F. Bampfylde
E Co :
Major Patrick R. Dobbin
2nd Bn. Oxf. and Bucks Light Infantry :
Lt. Colonel Michael W. Roberts
Support Co :
Major E. V. M. Favell
A Co :
Major Gilbert Rahr
B Co :
Major J. S. R. Edmunds
C Co :
Major Johnny Granville
D Co :
Major John Howard
R Co (in UK) :
Major C. H. Styles
1st Bn. Royal Ulster Rifles :
Lt. Colonel Jack Carson
Support Co :
Major Eric F. "Killer" Johnston
A Co :
Major Charles E. Vickery
B Co :
Major Gerald P. Rickcord
C Co :
Major F.R.A. Hynds
D Co :
Major A.J. "Tony" Dyball
F Co :
Major E. A. D. "Paddy" Liddle
6th A/B Armoured Recce Regiment :
Lt. Colonel Godfrey R. Stewart
Hq Sqdn :
Captain H. Walker
A Sqdn :
Major P. Barnett
B Sqdn :
Major J. C. G. Dunolly
R Sqdn :
Major A. C. Doyle
6th A/B Division Signals :
Lt. Colonel D. Smallman-Tew
N°1 Co :
Major George S. Fenton
Royal Army Ordnance Corps :
Lt. Colonel J.L. Watson
6th A/B Div. Ordnance Field Park :
Major W.L. Taylor
Royal Army Medical Corps :
Colonel M. Mac Ewan
195th Airlanding Field Ambulance :
Lt. Colonel William A. Anderson
224th Para Field Ambulance :
Lt. Colonel D.H. Thompson
225th Para Field Ambulance :
Lt. Colonel Bruce Harvey
Royal Artillery :
Lt. Colonel Jack S.L. Norris
2nd Airlanding Anti-Aircraft Btry :
Major W.A.H. Rowat
3rd Airlanding Anti-Tank Btry :
Major Nick Cranmer
A Troop :
Lieutenant J. E. Maddocks
B Troop :
Lieutenant I. W. Hall
C Troop :
Lieutenant C. F. Hart
D Troop :
Lieutenant J. A. Hunter
4th Airlanding Anti-Tank Btry :
Major Peter Dixon
E Troop :
Lieutenant P. Pring
F Troop :
Lieutenant J. S. Robinson
G Troop :
Lieutenant L. J. Ray
H Troop :
Lieutenant S. A. Lyons
2nd Forward Observation Unit :
Major Harry Rice
53rd Airlanding Regiment RA :
Lt. Colonel Tony Teacher
210th Airlanding Light Btry RA :
Major the Honourable Charles Russel
A Troop :
Captain P. W. Mertens
B Troop :
Captain D. K. Thomas
211th Airlanding Light Btry RA :
Major Jim Craigie
C Troop :
Captain Hugh W. Ward
D Troop :
Captain H. R. "Dick" Rogers
212th Airlanding Light Btry RA :
Major Matt Gubbins
E Troop :
Captain P. R. N. Stewart
F Troop :
Captain C. E. Stone
Royal Engineers :
Lt. Colonel Frank H. Lowman
3rd Para Squadron RE :
Major Tim Roseveare
N°1 Troop :
Captain Freddy Fox
N°2 Troop :
Captain Tim Juckes
N°3 Troop :
Captain Geoff Smith
591st Para Squadron RE :
Major Andy Wood
N°1 Troop :
Captain Frank Harbord
N°2 Troop :
Captain Tony Jackson
N°3 Troop :
Captain Fergy Semple
249th Field Company RE :
Major Sandy Rutherford
286th Field Park Company RE :
Major Jack Waters
Royal Elect. and Mecca. Engineers :
Lt. Colonel R.V. Powditch
6th A/B Div. Workshop REME :
Major E. Bonniwell
286th Workshop Company :
Royal Army Service Corps :
Lt. Colonel J. Lovegrove
63rd Airborne Composite Co :
Major A.C. Billetop
398th Airborne Composite Co :
Major M.E. Phipps
716th Airborne Lt Composite Co :
Major A. Jones